EMS Fellowship

Emergency Medical Services is the newest subspecialty of Emergency Medicine. The EMS physician plays a key role in the prehospital healthcare system to create and update medical care protocols, train field personnel, perform quality assurance, advance EMS through research, and decide appropriate new equipment. University of Florida in Gainesville is one of the first ACGME accredited EMS fellowships. Established in 2013, our fellowship is a one year program which provides training in all aspects of EMS including patient care in the field, finances, operations, paramedic education & simulation, administrative services and EMS research.

The UF Health Department of Emergency Medicine is the centralized point for the EMS fellowship, residency program, educational conferences, and where many of the administrative meetings are held to make EMS care decisions for our region.

Fellows have access to medical records and medical information including digitalized imaging studies, discharge summaries, hospital medical records, and results of diagnostics studies such as cardiac stress testing, echocardiography, and cardiac catheterization. The UF Health ED serves the north central Florida region covering the surrounding 13 counties and interacting with EMS personnel from over 16 different rural EMS agencies. Many of these agencies do not have extensive physician contact. This will provide our fellows with the opportunity to reach out to these rural EMS agencies to experience dealing with longer transport times and farm equipment injuries. Our fellows will interact with these rural agencies and surrounding rural hospitals to enhance education, communication and patient care.

Our fellows act as assistant medical directors for Alachua County Fire Rescue (ACFR). Alachua county is made up of rural and suburban area with nearly 250 thousand people in a 969 square mile area, offering fellows a wide range of experience. Fellows are involved in the day to day operations of ACFR, as well as mass gathering medical care, such as UF football at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Our EMS fellows follow the standard curriculum set forth by ACGME, but our faculty is committed to optimizing the fellowship experience for each fellow base on personal interests. As a part of the EMS fellowship, fellows are encouraged to taken an active role in molding and individualizing the experience by utilizing the multitude of resources available through the UF Health system. Opportunities range from pre-hospital medical education, critical care air transport, TEMS, simulation medicine, research, as well as many others. Over the course of one year, fellows are granted the educational foundation for academic success; meanwhile, given the opportunity and encouragement to have an immersive experience focused on personal and academic interests.

Courses and Conferences

  • Aortic balloon pump management
  • EVOC training
  • Hazmat certification
  • Event Medicine
    • Home UF Football Games
    • Local Bike Fest
  • NAEMSP medical directors course
  • Rural EMS procedures
  • Extrication course
  • ClinCon Conference
  • Intubation Rodeo


  • Prehospital airway placement in cardiac arrest
  • Prehospital recognition of sepsis
  • Prehospital TBI 
  • Prehospital hypothermia
  • OHCA (Out of Hospital Cardiac Arrest) 
  • Lactate use in cardiac arrest
  • Ketamine for excited delirium
  • Airway management
  • Compression fracture 

Our Resources

  • The Department of Emergency Medicine and its Divisions of EMS and Research.
  • The University of Florida Residency in Emergency Medicine
  • UF Health Shands Tertiary Care and Trauma Center which serves the entire North Central Florida region
  • Alachua County and City of Gainesville Department of Public Safety Bureaus of EMS, Fire, and Police.
  • ShandsCair critical care air transport service
  • The Alachua County Communications Center as well as ShandsCair dispatch through which we provide online medical command to ground and air EMS agencies, to the north central Florida region.
  • Critical care ground transport (Alachua County Fire Rescue)
  • The University of Florida Stadium Medical Direction, Emergency Preparedness and Disaster Response.
  • Alachua County Sheriff’s Office Tactical program
  • Levy County Department of Public Safety
  • Lake County EMS
  • Two physician response vehicles with additional equipment

Current EMS Fellows

EMS Faculty

For More Information

For more information please contact:

Jason Jones, MD
Medical Director, Alachua County Fire Rescue and Levy County
Fellowship Director
Division of Emergency Medicine
1329 16th Ave, Suite 4
Gainesville FL, 32605
Contact Dr. Jones

Amber Cook
EMS Counties Coordinator
Division of Emergency Medicine
1329 SW 16th Ave, Suite 5270
Gainesville, FL 32610
Contact Amber