Critical Care Fellowship

The Department of Emergency Medicine supports a critical care fellowship for interested Emergency Medicine trained physicians. The primary teaching facility is at UF Health Shands Hospital in Gainesville, Florida. The fellowship is multi-disciplinary with curriculum consisting of surgical, medical, neurosurgical, burn, and cardiovascular ICUs. The goal is to develop a well rounded Emergency Medicine Intensivist capable of treating a critically ill patient with any variety of pathophysiology.

The UF Department of Emergency Medicine co-sponsors a critical care fellowship with the Anesthesiology Department and is pleased to announce a critical care certification pathway. The University of Florida Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine program has received American Board of Anesthesiology approval for a two year training program in critical care for Emergency Physicians. This approval will permit the emergency physicians that enter and complete this program for entry into subspecialty critical care certification.

The first year of the program will consist of a typical ACGME Anesthesia CCM program that includes a multi-disciplinary model with a focus towards surgical intensive care (trauma, burn, transplant, orthopedic, vascular, ENT, urology, cardiothoracic). A significant time is also spent in a 30 bed neurosurgical intensive care unit (status epilepticus, stroke, neurosurgical diseases). The second year gives the fellow an multi-disciplinary opportunity to expand the intensive care experience with added time in a medical intensive care unit, electives, and research. During the second year the fellow is also given time in the ED to ease the transition into a well rounded ED-Critical Care physician. During this time the fellows would be ideally suited to improve coordination between the ED and ICU and has been shown to enhance ED care, system/protocol implementation, and education in critical care. We also work closely with our trauma/surgical colleagues who have a Surgical Critical Care and Acute Care Surgery Fellowships.

If you are applying for fellowship, please follow the Anesthesia Application. EM applicants must still follow the Anesthesia steps including applying through the Match Program via SF Matching Program website. Instruction Sheet After the Match, please follow instructions on the Anesthesia website and submit documents as instructed. We do not routinely offer fellowship spots in surgery or medicine pathways, but are working to incorporate these into the models described below from the individual organizations (ABS, ABIM, ABEM).

Additional Information

Anesthesia Pathways

Surgery Pathway

Medicine Pathway

Program Faculty

Rohit P Patel

Rohit P Patel M.D.

Clinical Associate Professor; Associate Chief, Division Of Critical Care Medicine; Co-Director, Emergency Medicine Critical Care Fellowship; Co-Director, Surgical Intensive Care Unit; Director, Critical Care Ultrasound, Surgical ICU
Torben K Becker

Torben K Becker M.D., Ph.D., RDMS, FAWM, FAEMS

Assistant Professor, Chief – Division Of Critical Care Medicine, Director – Global Health Programs, Program Director – Global Emergency Medicine Fellowship, Associate Program Director – EMS Fellowship, Director – Prehospital Research
Casey T Carr

Casey T Carr M.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor; Director, Student & Resident Education And Co-Director, Cardiac Arrest Programs, Division Of Critical Care Medicine

Adjunct Program Faculty

Marie-Carmelle Elie

Marie-Carmelle Elie M.D., RDMS, FACEP, FCCM

Adjunct Professor
Travis W Murphy

Travis W Murphy

Adjunct Faculty, Division Of Critical Care Medicine
Kevin K Wang

Kevin K Wang Ph.D.

Professor & Program Director NNBR

OPS Faculty

Kruti Shah

Kruti Shah M.D.

OPS Professional Faculty

Past, Current, and Future Fellows

  • 2010-2011
    Rohit Patel
  • 2011-2012
    Rohit Patel, David McConoughey
  • 2012-2013
    David McConoughey, Nathan Gilmore, Brian Shippert, Ali Dabaja
  • 2013-2014
    Ahsan Janoo, Brian Shippert, Ali Dabaja
  • 2014-2015
    Irina Brennan, Sean Lee
  • 2015-2016
    Irina Brennan, Kene Chukwuana, Sean Lee
  • 2016-2017
    Kene Chukwuana
  • 2017-2018
    Karina Bartlett
  • 2018-2019
    Karina Bartlett, Caleb Harrell, Barbara Flores Gonzalez, Kruti Shah
  • 2019-2020
    Caleb Harrell, Barbara Flores Gonzalez, Kruti Shah, Casey Carr, Adnan Javed, Ryan Day, Travis Murphy
  • 2020-2021
    Abdulaziz Alburaih, Casey Carr, Adnan Javed, Barbara Flores Gonzalez, John Bruno, Nicolas Segal
  • 2021-2022
    John Bruno, Nicolas Segal, Beulah Castor, Terrance Creighton