Posted in

Recent News

Drs. Ticas and Zeretzke-Bien win 1st place in this year’s Pediatric Section EMages competition

Below is the announcement email from the American College of Emergency Physicians: Dear Dr. Ticas and Dr. Zeretzke-Bien, Thank you for submitting your entry entitled “Purple Toe Presentation” into this year’s Pediatric Section EMages competition. The Section EMages review committee members independently reviewed and subsequently conferred for a collective ranking of EMage…

2018 GHHS Member

Congratulations to Joshua Gordon for being newly selected as a resident to the Chapman Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Emergency physician, Dr. Benjamin Abo is appointed to the Florida Department of Health’s Emergency Medical Services for Children Advisory Committee

The department of Emergency Medicine would like to recognize Dr. Benjamin Abo for his appointment to the Children Advisory Committee with the Florida Department of Health. Through this appointment, Dr. Abo will be advising the Department of Health on matters concerning preventative, prehospital, hospital, rehabilitative and other post-hospital medical care…

UF Health Shands opens exam room for sexual assault victims

S.A.N.E. Room Ribbon Cutting UF Health Shands Hospital opened its Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner’s room on October 25th, 2017. The room provides a dedicated space for sexual assault survivors to seek treatment in a private and quiet area located outside the main emergency…

Emergency care comes to southwest Gainesville

University of Florida Health celebrated the opening of its newest freestanding emergency room, the UF Health Emergency Center – Kanapaha, Monday (Sept. 26), providing access to emergency care for residents of southwest Gainesville.

Awards presented to UF Emergency Medicine students at the annual FCEP meeting

At the annual 2016 Student Research Awards at the Florida College of Emergency Physicians meeting on August 7th, two UF Emergency Medicine students were awarded winner and runner up, respectively. Stephanie Winslow was the winner and recipient of the 2016 Student Research Award for her study “Using Outpatient Medications and…